CVESD teachers honored at 27th Annual “Salute to Teachers”

On Sept. 16, CVESD Teachers of the Year Rachel Mednick of Rosebank Elementary School and Blanca Hernandez-Stingl of Liberty Elementary School represented the district at the 27th Annual “Salute to Teachers.”

The Academy Awards-style event celebrates San Diego County’s 22,000 public school teachers by honoring 44 nominees from local school districts and five educators named the 2017-18 San Diego County Teachers of the Year.

Mednick, who was recognized at the San Diego County Board of Education’s October meeting, was selected as a Top 10 finalist for the prestigious award and Hernandez-Stingl was honored as one of the 44 nominees. The finalists were chosen based on their teaching philosophy, student achievement, community involvement, knowledge of educational issues, promotion of the teaching profession, and their ability to serve as ambassadors of education.

Over the past 27 years, teachers from across the county have been selected for their unwavering commitment to teaching, students, and lifelong learning. The show, sponsored by the San Diego County Credit Union and televised from the Balboa Theater, features celebrity emcees and presenters, and musical and dance performances.

About the Chula Vista Elementary School District

The Chula Vista Elementary School District (CVESD) is the largest K-6th grade elementary school district in the state of California. It is located in the southern San Diego County and enrolls approximately 30,000 students within 46 schools. The district serves diverse communities and provides each student with an equal opportunity to excel within a rigorous learning environment that nurtures imagination, intellect, and a sense of inquiry.

Media Contact
Company Name: Chula Vista Elementary School District
Contact Person: Anthony Millican
Email: Send Email
Phone: 619-849-0260
Country: United States