Boy Scout Honor Society, Order of the Arrow, Awards Top Scouts and Adult Leaders

Nathaniel Rodgers Founders Award recipient.
The El Ku Ta Lodge of the Order of the Arrow, the Boy Scout National Honor Society in the Great Salt Lake Council, has awarded a number of awards and honors to their top Scouts and Scout Leaders.

Salt Lake City, UTAH – Over 300 members of the El Ku Ta Order of the Arrow Lodge of the Great Salt Lake Council of the Boy Scouts of America gathered to honor a number of their own.

The annual meeting and banquet is held each year at the main lodge building at Camp Tracy in Millcreek Canyon. After the banquet and entertainment the announcement of the top awards available to both youth and adults, known as Arrowmen, were announced.

The Founders Award was presented to former Lodge Chief and current Section Chief Nathaniel Rodgers, and a second award was presented to Blair Hope, the current Lodge Adviser.

The Vigil Honor is the highest honor that the Order of the Arrow can bestow upon its members for service to lodge, council, and Scouting. Membership cannot be won by a person’s conscious endeavors. Each year a nominating committee meets to select those who will be honored. The Vigil honorees are: Spencer Adair, Matthew Ashby, David Harkness, Hank Hoffer, Bridger Hope, Bruce Hough, Denovan Lino, Brian Lore, Benjamin McMurray, Samuel Sjostrom, Alexander Turner, Benjamin Vielstich, David Vielstich, and Isaac Vielstich.

Bridge Hope received the youth Arrowman of the Year, and Robert Freeze was selected as the adult recipient.

John Garrett was selected as the Staff Adviser of the Year, and special recognitions were given to all the chapter and lodge advisers. Special recognition wasgiven to all Associate Lodge Advisers and Chapter Advisers for their outstanding efforts to help youth.

Chapter 8 was selected as the Chapter of the Year, and Chapter 17 was named the Most Improved Chapter of the Year.

The Order of the Arrow is the National Honor Society of the Boy Scouts of America (BSA). The society was created by E. Urner Goodman, with the assistance of Carroll A. Edson, in 1915 as a means of reinforcing the Scout Oath and the Scout Law. It uses American Indian imagery for ceremonies bestowing recognition on Scouts elected by their peers as best exemplifying the ideals of Scouting. The OA promotes Scouting ideals, especially selfless leadership to help others, as lifelong values and encourages continued participation in Scouting and camping.

The members of the Order of the Arrow are considered the cream of the crop of the Boy Scouts, with less than one percent of all Scouts receiving the honor of being elected to be a part of this prestigious group. Members of the OA meet monthly with an adviser to learn leadership skills, and to participate in acts of service.

Media Contact
Company Name: El Ku Ta Order of the Arrow Lodge
Contact Person: Dave Bresnahan
Email: Send Email
Phone: 801-562-5362
State: UT
Country: United States